Do Our Petitions Insult God?

God has laid a conviction on my heart I would like to share.  If we were to ask a college professor to do kindergarten work, I think we could safely assume, he would be insulted. But isnt that what we do with God? Just in case the cancer or broken leg might not be healed…..we say “God just ease my pain.”  Instead of asking God to make that protocol son or daughter a mighty man,or woman of God we say….”keep them safe.”

I believe God must be insulted by our lack of faith in Him.   After all He is still the same God who parted the red sea and resurrected Jesus Christ from the grave!  Let us not insult His greatness anymore. He is the God of miracles. The world would call that kind of faith radical. God calls it GREAT!

Dear friend.  I cant tell you how much peace, even joy it has brought me to go before the throne with such faith.  The atmosphere of expectancy has risen as I verbalize such requests!  Let us not forget “How Great is our God!” I’m asking the God who gives us faith to increase it to match his wondrous power!  The centurion “got” how great the power of God was!

Matthew 8

When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed, suffering terribly.”

Jesus said to him, “Shall I come and heal him?”

The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

10 When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him,“Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith. 11 I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven.12 But the subjects of the kingdom will be thrown outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

13 Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! Let it be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed at that moment.

4 thoughts on “Do Our Petitions Insult God?

  1. Pingback: Vrai Dieu donne Sa Parole pour obtenir la sagesse | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a comment